Randall and Hopkirk (Deceased) was not networked across the whole of the United Kingdom by the ITV regions when it was originally broadcast. This resulted in varying orders and days and times of transmission around the country. Consequently, it can be difficult to present a coherent broadcast guide that keeps all of the people happy all of the time. Here, we present regional transmission details for Yorkshire Television, the company which owned the broadcast franchise for the Yorkshire region.

This information is incomplete. If you can accurately update the information for the Yorkshire region, please do get in touch.

TX Order Episode Title Yorkshire Television (First Transmission)
1 My Late Lamented Friend and Partner Friday 19th September 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
2 All Work and No Pay Friday 26th September 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
3 A Disturbing Case Friday 3rd October 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
4 That's How Murder Snowballs Friday 10th October 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
5 Never Trust a Ghost Friday 17th October 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
6 Whoever Heard of a Ghost Dying? Friday 24th October 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
7 The House on Haunted Hill Friday 31st October 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
8 When Did You Start to Stop Seeing Things? Friday 7th November 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
9 Just for the Record Friday 14th November 1969, 7.30pm (B/W)
10 Murder Ain't What It Used to Be! Friday 21st November 1969, 7.30pm
11 But What a Sweet Little Room Friday 28th November 1969, 7.30pm
12 Who Killed Cock Robin? Friday 5th December 1969, 7.30pm
13 The Ghost Who Saved the Bank at Monte Carlo Friday 12th December 1969, 7.30pm
14 For the Girl Who Has Everything Friday 19th December 1969, 7.30pm
Break in Transmission
No further episodes transmitted until 2nd June 1970
15 Transmitted episode unknown (*) Tuesday 2nd June 1970, 9.00pm
16 The Smile Behind the Veil Tuesday 9th June 1970, 7.30pm
17 Transmitted episode unknown (*) Tuesday 16th June 1970, 9.00pm
Break in Transmission
No further episodes transmitted until 5th August 1970
18 Money to Burn Wednesday 5th August 1970, 8.00pm
19 Vendetta for a Dead Man Wednesday 12th August 1970, 8.00pm
20 When the Spirit Moves You Wednesday 19th August 1970, 8.00pm
Break in Transmission
No further episodes transmitted until 2nd September 1970
21 It's Supposed to be Thicker Than Water Wednesday 2nd September 1970, 8.00pm
22 Transmitted episode unknown Wednesday 9th September 1970, 8.00pm
23 You Can Always Find a Fall Guy Wednesday 16th September 1970, 8.00pm
24 Could You Recognise the Man Again? Wednesday 23rd September 1970, 8.00pm
Break in Transmission
No further episodes transmitted until 7th October 1970
25 A Sentimental Journey Wednesday 7th October 1970, 8.00pm
  Episodes not currently possible to assign to transmissions:  
- The Trouble with Women  
- The Man from Nowhere  
- Somebody Just Walked Over My Grave  
- The Ghost Talks  

(*) Transmission confirmed from South Yorkshire local newspapers

Colour Transmissions: The Yorkshire Television region's Emley Moor transmitter switched to colour on Saturday 15th November 1969. The first episode they transmitted in colour was the tenth in their run, Murder Ain't What It Used to Be.

Researched and compiled by Simon Coward and Alan Hayes
with thanks to Andrew Pixley

Back to Transmission Index Map of ITV Regions 1968-74

Back to Top