Randall and Hopkirk (Deceased) was not networked across the whole of the United Kingdom by the ITV regions when it was originally broadcast. This resulted in varying orders and days and times of transmission around the country. Consequently, it can be difficult to present a coherent broadcast guide. Here, we present regional transmission details for Border Television, the company which owned the broadcast franchise for the Cumbria and South Scotland region.

This information is incomplete. If you can accurately update the information for the Border Television region, please do get in touch.

TX Order Episode Title Border Television (First Transmission)
1 My Late Lamented Friend and Partner Friday 9th January 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
2 All Work and No Pay Friday 16th January 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
3 A Disturbing Case Friday 23rd January 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
4 That's How Murder Snowballs Friday 30th January 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
5 Never Trust a Ghost Friday 6th February 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
6 Whoever Heard of a Ghost Dying? Friday 13th February 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
7 The House on Haunted Hill Friday 20th February 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
8 When Did You Start to Stop Seeing Things? Friday 27th February 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
9 Just for the Record Friday 6th March 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
10 Murder Ain't What It Used to Be! Friday 13th March 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
11 But What a Sweet Little Room Friday 20th March 1970, 7.30pm (B/W)
12 Who Killed Cock Robin? Friday 27th March 1970, 7.35pm (B/W)
13 The Ghost Who Saved the Bank at Monte Carlo Friday 3rd April 1970, 7.35pm (B/W)
Break in Transmission
No further episodes transmitted until 9th April 1971
14 Transmitted episode unknown Friday 9th April 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
15 It's Supposed to be Thicker Than Water Friday 16th April 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
16 The Trouble with Women Friday 23rd April 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
17 For the Girl Who Has Everything Friday 30th April 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
18 Transmitted episode unknown Friday 7th May 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
19 When the Spirit Moves You Friday 14th May 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
20 The Man from Nowhere Friday 21st May 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
21 Vendetta for a Dead Man Friday 28th May 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
22 A Sentimental Journey Friday 4th June 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
23 Transmitted episode unknown Friday 11th June 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
24 Transmitted episode unknown Friday 18th June 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
25 Transmitted episode unknown Friday 25th June 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
26 Transmitted episode unknown Friday 2nd July 1971, 7.30pm (B/W)
  Episodes not currently possible to assign to transmissions:  
- You Can Always Find a Fall Guy  
- The Smile Behind the Veil  
- Somebody Just Walked Over My Grave  
- Could You Recognise the Man Again?  
- Money to Burn  
- The Ghost Talks  

Colour Transmissions: The Border Television region's Caldbeck transmitter switched to colour on Wednesday 1st September 1971, meaning that the entirety of Randall and Hopkirk (Deceased)'s first run in the Border region was screened in black-and-white.

Researched and compiled by Simon Coward and Alan Hayes

Back to Transmission Index Map of ITV Regions 1968-74 Forward to Channel Television

Back to Top